Cont. The DA Philosophy 1

Dver left a comment on my previous post here.

I believe my reply merits a blog post:

Thinking back through my artistic ‘career’ it’s hard to find a time where my work was not devotional in some sense. But it’s only when I experienced my initiation experience in late 2015 that I really ‘clicked’ to what I was doing and turned it into my primary form of devotional expression/engagement. Taking on the mantel of Dionysian Artist and name Δ.
Thus my devotion looks a lot different from others that consider themselves “Hellenic Polytheists” or even Dionysians.

The ultimate idea of ‘Art for god’s sake’ is that it is more liberating to the artist than ‘Art for art’s sake’, even if the work is unpleasing to the human audience, it does not matter. The opinions of human’s is only consequential and unnecessary. Devotional art is therefore free of any criticism from mankind and the artist need not worry of others opinions. From your comment Dver, you certainly understand my intention here.

Others… it can be difficult to explain. I recently had a conversation with a fellow artist, who is also an art historian / theorist / critic and teacher. He was dismayed at the fact that we do not do shows and rarely sell our work. I explained to him I’d rather see the art burned than sell it to some hipster who just likes the work because “it’s cool”. Our art, especially the street art, is not designed to be decorative. It’s designed as dedication to the gods. It is not owned by me, I am only a mere creator and custodian of the work. That is not to say I am forbidden to sell the work, just that if sold it has to go to someone who understands and respects the sacredness of the work. And boy… have I turned down mega offers that would make most impoverished artists wet their pants, as the destination for the work was an office space, or a cafe…

This behaviour has caused dismay in not only my admirers, but family and friends (including the one I mentioned). They cannot understand the purpose of this art, it is not an object, it is not a thing to be brought and sold in the stock exchanged (aka, art market), it is a piece of work dedicated to the gods and any human appreciation should be reverence over any other methods of our culture views art now.

2 thoughts on “Cont. The DA Philosophy 1

  1. It indeed can be difficult to explain this position to others. For instance, I recently completed an art/photography book project for my spirits. I am only publishing 13 copies because that’s what the spirits want, and if they’d only wanted the one copy I’m keeping for Them, that would be all I’d make, even though I put in a year of work on this and huge amounts of my own money. I could easily put it into regular circulation, and if it happened to be successful (and I could encourage this by pandering to certain hipster circles, for instance, who are into analog photography and that sort of thing), it could even make me some real money, but that’s not the point. It is scary sometimes to pursue a path like this, but also quite liberating. And it really emphasizes the devotional nature when you purposely refrain from making work available to the broader public. Which in turn, psychologically reinforces to your own mind the reality and significance of the gods/spirits. Now more than ever, I think it’s a radical and necessary act to sometimes say, This has value completely regardless of if any other human ever appreciates it *or even sees it*.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 13 copies? That totally sounds like what some black metal bands do. 13 cassettes released only so it’s super obscure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

