How did I become first aware of Dionysos?

dionysus_by_goatass-d3jqejq
Dionysos by Hephaestian Studios (Wayne McMillan and me.)

In some regards I was fortunate to be raised in a religiously liberal family. All members being agnostic with a New Age / Mystic streak. It was not unusual for us to attend New Age festivals, have “crystal parties”, we even had a family psychic / medium who was a close family friend.
My sister is a practising “Neo-Shaman”, “Earth worker” and “Light Worker”. She performs various rituals: “healing nature and correcting vibration energy that has been imbalanced by the wrongs of mankind”.
My mother is very causal, she has a shrine dedicated to Ganesh in her house and an ancestor shrine – she is naturalistic in her ‘practice’, I don’t even think she is aware of what she is has done – this makes it all the more beautiful.

Being raised in this environment was something I’m grateful for, but resulted in feeling “empty”. I have always been curious about religion and begun seeking something when I was very young. At around age fifteen I looked into several religions, including Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Wicca, Druids, Heathenry – none really clicked. Something I always found myself drawn towards was Greek mythology, the stories, the gods, the heroes inspired me. I would skip school and just read Greek myths all day until my mother came home from work where I would dress in my school uniform and pretend I went to school. This was when I first became aware of Dionysos and begun my devotion to Hellenic Gods. Throughout my teenage years I did this, reading Greek myths, history, cultic practices – despite my low attendance grades at school, my history teacher was impressed by my knowledge of history. At this time Hypnos, Nyx, Morpheus and Hermes were the first gods I was dedicated towards.

After high-school I focused on my artistic inclinations and went  to arts school, at this time I became more connected with Hermes, Hephaestus, Athena and Apollon. These four “patrons” being the core of my practice.

In art school I meet my life partner and we made plans for when we finished school, establishing a business call Hephaestian Studios: making and selling statues dedicated to the Greek gods. After two  years we decided to close business and downgrade our work to making art on the streets of Melbourne for free, moving into the city. Another two years we decided to go the next step, throw out our belongings and go homeless. Travelling around Australia making art.
This is when Dionysos entered my life.

I cannot put an exact date when it happened, but it was the around the end of 2011 to 2012, I experienced a number of epiphanies from Dionysos. He has been a massive part of my life ever since.

2 thoughts on “How did I become first aware of Dionysos?

Leave a Reply

