Facebook banning

I have been banned from facebook over an image I shared a few years ago. As these things work: someone must have reported me.

Honestly I can’t remember what I wrote about this, I’m supposing it was a rejection of the nationalism and appropriation of classical symbolism for modern day politics.

As I *despise* censorship I’m re-posting the image here. Right now I hold no feelings for it, nor opinion. Artistically, it has merits in making a good image. Politically, my only concern is using sacred classical themes and terms as a means of promoting secular modern day concepts.

Regardless, I would point out when this image was first published it went “viral”, it was shared by millions of people and featured in newspapers, magazines and facebook.

Yet…. suddenly I am banned from facebook for something I posted years ago (Like many other people at the time).

Thumbs up to censorship.

3021307-inline-fb-thumbsup-printpackaging

s7mikro

 

Edit for more info:

The photo above was taken by a photographer called Dimitris the Athens in 2012. Some interpretation of it as a response against austerity efforts, “cutting the umbilical cord of austerity”. It spread across facebook at the time by Greeks, often using the image as a rallying call. European nations have a long history of bare breasted woman as revolutionary symbols, i.e. Marianne of France.

I shared this image to discuss the phenomenon especially as it was using a title for a sacred role played by women of the Dionysian cults. I certainly was not sharing it for sexual gratification or being obscene.

I’m not naive enough to think that facebook gives a shit, I understand that they have blanket bots that look for nudity and censor it, but based upon my countries law, (laws I have to adhere to as a “citizen”, even with my use of the internet), this image would be regarded as genuine art. The image has cultural, historical and social importance and has gone down as an icon for it’s time.

This is a quote by facebook TOS:

We remove photographs of people displaying genitals or focusing in on fully exposed buttocks. We also restrict some images of female breasts if they include the nipple, but we always allow photos of women actively engaged in breastfeeding or showing breasts with post-mastectomy scarring. We also allow photographs of paintings, sculptures and other art that depicts nude figures. Restrictions on the display of both nudity and sexual activity also apply to digitally created content unless the content is posted for educational, humorous or satirical purposes. Explicit images of sexual intercourse are prohibited. Descriptions of sexual acts that go into vivid detail may also be removed.

So… in terms of law in Australia this image is regarded as genuine art. In terms of facebook’s own TOS it falls into he category of artwork for its: “educational, humorous or satirical purposes.”

5 thoughts on “Facebook banning

Leave a Reply

