It goes on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on

The discussion of Polytheist devotion, submission and hierarchy of divine is continuing to the point it’s getting personal.
It’s sad that this is happening, especially since one party seems to be following the recurrent theme of using the minority group of the polytheist to bully, harass and name call to cater to their own particular audience. It’s a kinda a ‘leap-frog’ game I’ve seen with the humanist / archetypes / atheist ‘pagans’ that launch themselves from one community to another, while insulting the previous they came from. It’s happening again with a new breed of radical pagans.

But on the topic, this reminds me I have already discussed this stuff! Back in 2014 the SAME debate was going.
Do we really have nothing better to do than repeat ourselves over and over and over?
Whatever, this is what I wrote and I still stand by it.

https://gargarean.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/my-gods-scare-me/

That was written at a time when I was still fleshing these concepts out in my own head. It’s one of my favourite pieces on my old blog because it is still relevant.

Yet, since 2014 things have happened to me and I’ve encounter more experience, one was an educational lesson on backing away. For the last year I have found myself walking an increasingly dark path, while also being exposed to an arrange of sea deities through my art. One deity is Keto, mother and grandmother of monsters. Keto’s *demands*, as that is what they were, were so terrifying I refused Her. After which our short-lived relationship ended.

Now, when I mentioned this situation on my facebook, alongside my discussion of Dionysos. A commentator asked, why did I deny Keto but not Dionysos? The difference is while Dionysos does scare me, His devotional requests are in no way so destructive. They may be destructive in a sense of changing my personality, my identity, my views, my way of thinking. But not in a sense of physically killing myself or another.

Do we understand the degrees now?

Then there is the argument of hierarchy and submission / dominance. This argument can be settled with a couple or more bottles of wine. I mean that seriously. If you want to feel Dionysos, to see the extent of His dominance over you, get yourself absolutely shit faced. Dionysos is a god that forms within us, his epiphany is felt very easily and through his blood he brings out an identity which we don’t usually exhibit. In the state of drunkenness even basic things like motor functions are no longer ours to control. That is my argument against working with the gods equally.

To finish the small commentary on the current discussion I want to express my disappointment at the opposing parties of Polytheists. It’s disappointing because it’s denying the divine and denying nature. I believe that it is possible for people to live in harmony with nature, but even in this grace nature will overcome. Wether through an attack from an animal, starvation, or old age. We all must submit to death.

Denying that is hubris and just fucking stupid.

3 thoughts on “It goes on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on

  1. “If you want to feel Dionysos, to see the extent of His dominance over you, get yourself absolutely shit faced.”

    That’s a great point. You will never be on equal terms with an entity who can loosen your tongue, your limbs, your heart, your mind – either in a positive or destructive way.

    “We all must submit to death.”

    This reminds me of something I was saying to Sannion yesterday about all of this – that resisting the concept of Authority when it comes to the gods is about as effective and sensible as resisting the authority of a tornado. You can shout “no masters!” all you want at it, but it’s still going to destroy your home, and not because it’s mean, but because it’s a tornado. Some things are just bigger than you, by nature. That doesn’t have to be a bad thing, but you just can’t force the gods into your concept of human societal power structures.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. “You can shout “no masters!” all you want at it, but it’s still going to destroy your home, and not because it’s mean, but because it’s a tornado.”

      Aye, that is the thing that gets me with the radical argument. Rhyd especially advocates for living in nature and love of nature. But then rejects the authority of nature? It’s the most unnatural thing I can think of.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

